Momma knows best

Let me tell you something about myself: I love Nutella. I put that s%!# on everything. So last week when my boyfriend and I were trying to figure out what to bake together in order to satisfy a sweet tooth, crepes just popped into my mind! Well… more specifically, crepes with nutella. Now, I’ve never made crepes before but my mom used to make them all the time for my brother and I because they’re quick, easy and we gobbled them up faster than you could say “they’re ready!”

So how hard could it be, right? Just look up the recipe online and you get a bunch of different hits from basic crepes to french crepes. We decided to try a basic crepe recipe because the total time to make them was only 30 minutes and I had all the ingredients in the fridge. So there we were, following the directions like good little bakers, measuring and mixing everything in like pros when it came time to pour/scoop the batter into the pan. That’s when things got weird. The batter didn’t spread well so the crepes came out thick and spongy! I was so disappointed! I felt like such a failure, double checking if we did everything right, what could have possibly lead to these small, spongy things which were nothing like the ones my momma used to make or I’ve had out before!

Enter mom. When I finally saw her that day I asked how she managed to make such large, soft, perfect crepes which I so vaguely remembered eating growing up. We compared ingredients and found an issue… well a couple. The online recipe is largely flour based which made the batter very thick and difficult to spread, and it used butter, which I didn’t really see a problem with but my mom said she never used it for whatever reason. Refusing to give up on remaking crepes, we tried again. Crepes 2.0. This time with my mom’s recipe.

It worked!! They were beautiful! Just like I remembered them! They spread nicely on the pan which allowed them to be nice and big and the added amount of milk made them fluffier too! Now, I don’t know if you guys have had any luck with online recipes, but for this one I for sure didn’t so I want to share my mom’s family recipe with you all so you can give it a whirl and see how it compares:

Ingredients:

-1 Litre of milk

-1 egg

-pinch of salt

-Flour {enough to make the batter thick but spreadable}

-Icing sugar {can use regular sugar; use enough to make the batter sweet}

Directions:

Makes about 12 large crepes.

Pour milk into a large bowl and add in the egg and pinch of salt. IMG_0020

Mix in 1 cup of flour at a time {you will need more than 1 cup} and stir the mixture.  Keep adding flour until the mixture is thick{ish} but spreadable.

Once the batter looks similar to the picture below, add enough {icing} sugar until the batter tastes as sweet as you like it.

Stir until smooth.

IMG_0021

Set the stove to medium-high heat and let the process begin!

Using a large ladle, scoop up some batter and pour it into the center of a Pam greased pan. Very quickly rotate the pan so that the batter spreads around the entire pan. Because of the milk based mixture, this should be quite easy.

Wait about 45 seconds to a minute and check the bottom of the crepe. It should look golden {see below} or any way you’d like!

IMG_0025

Flip the crepe when desired golden-ness is achieved and wait about a minute again for the other side to golden.

IMG_0029

Top it off with your favorite toppings {jam, honey, NUTELLA, berries, bananas}….

IMG_0032

Roll or fold the crepe and enjoy!

IMG_0019

Leave a Reply

