New York Pride: Day 3 & 4

Good morning. It’s Wednesday. The middle of the week. By now we’re either adjusted to our daily work routine and beginning a countdown for the weekend or enjoying some time off before work on the weekend. {I’m that second option}. Others, some special people out there, are probably enjoying an extended weekend… aka a vacation and just so you people know, I envy you. Especially if you’re somewhere sunny! Kitchener has been under a cloud for days and the rain cannot make up its mind as to whether its coming or going. Let me tell you, it takes MUCH more will to even try to look good and tame my curly mane in this humidity. But that’s another story for another time. For now, I’d like to wrap up my trip to New York.

Day 3 was a day to be proud. Millions of people {at least that’s what it felt like} gathered on the streets of NY to watch the New York Pride Parade. With the rain holding out for the majority of the morning, the parade kicked off with a roar! Excitement was in the air and extravagant costumes were on the ground among the happiest crowd I have ever seen. The whole parade was very long, running from somewhere around 37th street down to  around…. 15th street? I may be wrong, but what I do know is that after leaving the beginning of the parade around one {for shopping, of course} we tried to get to Soho around 5 or 6 o’clock and couldn’t! The parade was still going on at that point and was even continuing down the street. So yeah… no Soho.

Day 3 was also a day we just wandered the city. There was no specific plan as to what we wanted to see but we did run into a couple awesome things. For one, the Empire State Building just popped up among the Pride, as well as the Flatiron Building, which I believe was NYC’s first skyscraper. What really got me excited though was finally finding Kleinfelds! I got so excited, guys. Their window display was like the show, displaying some beautiful designer gowns and heels and it was surprisingly not busy around the place. I think this was the only thing I managed to check off my NY to do list. It’s hard traveling with so many people and trying to get to do everything. So to recap from this list I saw Kleinfeld’s and walked through some of Central Park {which hosted a special Canada day with some Canadian Bands}. Fail. Next time!!

Shopping in NYC was good, by the way. Near Central Park on 5 Avenue you have your designer labels: Gucci, Prada, Lord and Taylor, Tiffany, Vuitton, and more! As you progress towards 42nd street and such you’ll find Urban Outfitters, Gap, Guess and other “more affordable” stores. Seeing H&M and Forever 21 were like getting a feeling of home! Way more affordable, familiar but at the same time, usual. I found there was little variety between all the different H&M and Forever 21 locations so when shopping I would definitely advise you go to stores you don’t usually shop at. Just to see something different…something I’m sure Soho would’ve been great for……

Where I put most of my money wasn’t in the city at all. Somewhere along the interstate, in the city of Waterloo grew a set of Premium Outlets. And these outlets had really good sales! I’m talking 50% off at Coach and jcrew! Can you spell heaven? I got a lot more bang for my buck shopping at these outlets and they are always going to be the thing I support the most!
IMG_0184 IMG_0185 IMG_0186 IMG_0187 IMG_0199 IMG_0204 IMG_0209 IMG_0213 IMG_0215 IMG_0216 IMG_0217

Leave a Reply

