Little Things

Pay it forwardLast week, I had one of those terrible days that was almost comical based on how many things went wrong. I was feeling resentful, bitter, and sad, and wanted to (at least mentally) crawl under the covers for the rest of the afternoon.

But at one point there was a shift – when I realized that I was far too focused on myself. The whole thing had quickly spiraled into a pity party for one, and it felt unproductive and pathetic. I wasn’t quite ready to forgive myself for the little mistakes from that day, but at least I was able to direct positive energy elsewhere. It wasn’t about making some grandiose statement or charitable deed, but simply doing something little for someone else. My boyfriend had told me about a book he had been really wanting, so I went out and bought it for him as a “just because” gift (those are always the best). He was so moved by the gesture that it made me completely forget about everything else that had happened. It was a nice reminder that paying it forward is the best way to leave negativity behind.

Leave a Reply

