Product spotlight

post 2

Good evening, good day, or good morning!

How have y’all been? It’s been a while since I’ve really sat down and wrote a blogpost but I’ve come back and this time… I brought company 😛 To kind of add on to the last post by Vanessa on nighttime skin care, I’d like to focus on a specific product that  you can use on the daily to combat something we have all suffered with at some point or another….dun dun dun…. ACNE SCARS. I’m sure a good chunk of us had those teen years where we cleaned our face, yeah, but we didn’t care for it. I know I didn’t, and as a consequence I was left with lovely reminders of my past acne. Well this year I put my foot down. I said “No more, skin! No more redness and bumps! This is going to disappear!” And so I did what anyone who knew absolutely nothing about getting rid of acne scars did… I went on YouTube. There were many good DIY videos, many of which said the key to tackling these teen battle wounds was to exfoliate and moisturize. Exfoliate. Moisturize. Easy enough.

But I wanted a little extra something to help things along so I, again, did what any person who wanted to find out about products did and I took my butt to Sephora. Talk about overwhelming!  Eventually, I was pointed towards a pack of five masks which would supposedly brighten the skin and take care of problem areas but I wasn’t totally sold on this idea so off to Walmart I went!

I almost didn’t even see the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Skin Therapy Oil on the shelf but thank goodness I did. I had never tried anything from the brand before but after reading the box it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for!

Now I know what you might be thinking. “Oil on combination oily skin?? Won’t that just make you more oily??”

Allow me to summarize my research: using oil after exfoliating/ cleansing the skin tricks the skin into thinking the oil is its own and therefore discourages it from producing more oil thereby reducing it. It’s a weird reverse psychology thing. But it seems to work.

So the product comes in a bottle like the one below and has that dropper thing some medications used to have… If you ask me that’s the only downfall of this product. The way to get it out is a bit messy (I won’t lie, it has exploded all over my face at times) so I would recommend just using what is on the dropper and directly applying to the face or squeezing some into your hand first.

post 3

And now for some product information taken directly from the Palmer’s website:

Transform your skin with a powerful blend of 10 pure precious oils, Retinol, Vitamin C and our exclusive Cetesomate-E®Complex.

Skin restorative oils along with natural Cocoa Butter, Retinol and Vitamin C deliver multi-purpose, anti-aging skin benefits.

10 Pure Oils help moisturize and smooth fine lines and wrinkles while Retinol and Vitamin C help improve and brighten tone and texture. The lightweight, non-greasy formula absorbs quickly, while the Cetesomate® Complex helps deliver all of the essential vitamins and nutrients directly into the epidermal layer of the skin. Skin looks younger-looking with a more glowing and firm appearance.

Hypoallergenic – Paraben-Free – Phthalate-Free – Dermatologist Tested

I can definitely vouch for the effectiveness of this product. It’s so lightweight and fast absorbing that I can combine it with the Body Shop’s Blemish Fade Night Lotion as well as a night time moisturizer a few minutes later and not feel greasy. And on top of that, it has reduced the appearance of acne scars by at least 80%! Okay, that’s a number I just made up. But it has worked! I’ve really noticed how unnoticable my acne scars are now and I’m quite pleased! 

Just as a disclaimer, I did not suffer from extreme scars. Mine were able to be covered by makeup but stood out when I was fresh faced for sure. I cannot attest to how effective this product will be on hyperpigmentation, but I do recommend it nonetheless.

Oh wow! This was a doosey of a post! Hope I didn’t bore you all too much! If you have tried this product or others like please share your experience down below in the comments, I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Have a great Monday!

-Sabina

3 Replies to “Product spotlight”

  1. I used to love Palmer’s except lately there has been a lot of new research coming out about retinol and that it can greatly increase your chance for skin cancer. So I stopped using anything with retinol or vitamin A.
    -K

Leave a Reply

