French Toast Anyone?

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Recently, or maybe about a month ago, I decided to become vegan. I want to state that for a long time, I have not been feeling myself. I felt sluggish and tired, my stomach was always in pain, so I decided to try a more plant-based diet. Since then, I have been doing a lot of research, and have been purchasing some cookbooks to give me some inspiration and ideas on how to cook and what to cook for vegan/gluten-free meals. I bought Made With Love, and knew that I needed to try the vegan french toast. Let me tell you, it was life-changing. There are so many words I want to use to describe it, but really, I just have to say that you NEED to try it, so that you will understand. Plus, it’s french toast, enough said.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
3/4 cup organic raw almond butter
1/3 cup maple syrup, plus more to serve
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon gluten-free all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Pinch of sea salt
4 tablespoons vegan butter
8 slices gluten-free bread
1/4 cup pecans, chopped (or any other toppings you would want)

Directions:
1. In a large shallow dish, combine the non-dairy milk, almond butter, 1/3 cup maple syrup, flour, cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and salt

2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add 1 tablespoon of vegan butter and heat until it sizzles

3. Dip the bread into the almond butter mixture, one slice a time, and let it soak briefly, for 10 to 15 seconds

4. Fry the bread slices, in batches, for 4 to 5 minutes per side or until golden brown, adding more vegan butter to the skillet as necessary

5. Serve sprinkled with pecans and drizzled with maple syrup

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Leave a Reply

