Advice to my 18 year old self

bb6971dba28b2aee2b0ad93ae3e9acfa

The other day, while I was talking to some younger co-workers, I began to reminisce about my years in high school. Back then, I thought I would have those same ride or die best friends for the rest of my life. I thought that I would have accomplished some serious greatness by the time I was 25. I thought my career, and my life in general, would be moving at such a rapid rate, I’d be living in the fast lane. I thought that any small bump in my plans would be a complete crisis.

I’m here to say, at 24, that all those things could not be anymore wrong. I’ve finished high school, I’ve finished university, and now I’m in college. I have a boyfriend, and we are just happy, no rushing to take that next step. I still do have some of my very true ride or dies, but I can also say I have been betrayed multiple times by other friends and have had to let them go. There have been some bumps along the way, but I can’t think of having taken a different route.

It is through the bumps and obstacles that I’ve been able to really understand myself, and maybe understand that it is okay to make changes to your future. There have been so many times that I have questioned if the decisions I was making were the right ones.

If I could give my 18 year old self any advice, it would be to relax. The minute things were not going my way I’d become a nervous wreck. The truth is, the road you’re on is bumpy. And more often than not, you’re not going to know which direction to go in. But relax and trust yourself, because where I’m currently standing, at 24, it isn’t so bad. I promise.

Leave a Reply

